NOTE: In this website, non '' url links open in a new window.


Celebrating our Region 10 Superintendent of the Year!

The Superintendent of the Year award honors our outstanding administrators who exhibit exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance. Chosen for strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their districts, here’s what some of the board members shared in their nomination of this year’s regional winner.

2021 Region 10 Superintendent of the Year
Dr. Michael Hinojosa
Dallas ISD

Michael Hinojosa

“Over a two-year period in which tornadoes destroyed several schools, the pandemic turned education upside down, and a historic snowstorm left more than half the district’s 230 schools with burst pipes and flood damage, all eyes were on leadership. Dr. Hinojosa and his team demonstrated responsive and responsible management that allowed us to surmount these challenges.”

Celebrating our Region 10 School Board of the Year!

The Texas Association of School Administrators created the School Board Awards Program in 1971 to recognize school boards whose dedication and ethical service have made a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas. We are proud of the collaborative service displayed by this year’s deserving winner.

2021 Region 10 School Board of the Year
Duncanville ISD

2021 Region 10 School Board of the Year - Duncanville ISD

Top Row:  Jacqueline Culton (Secretary), Dr. Marc Smith, Superintendent, Janice Savage-Martin (President)
Middle Row: Dr. LaSonja Ivory (Trustee), Carla Fahey (Trustee), Janet Veracruz (Vice President),
Cassandra Phillips (Trustee).   Bottom Row:  Phil McNeely (Trustee)

“In addition to their unity and respect for one another, what has impressed me during The time we have worked together is how responsive and receptive the Trustees are to feedback from our stakeholders. They want to hear from our parents, teachers, and community members to determine how best to meet the needs of our students. The Trustees are committed to service to the district, and also the community.”

Dr. Marc Smith, Duncanville ISD Superintendent

Celebrating our Region 10 Teachers of the Year!

Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor that the State of Texas can bestow upon a teacher. Facilitated by the Texas Association of School Administrators, the Texas Teacher of the Year Program annually recognizes and rewards teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching. We are proud to celebrate our 2022 Region 10 Teachers of the Year.

2022 Region 10 Elementary Teacher of the Year
Jose Armendariz
John J. Pershing Elementary School, Dallas ISD

Jose Armendariz

“I am committed to serving my school and community, teaching global citizen skills, and embracing socio-emotional awareness through meaningful lessons that will impact student development to become our future community leaders.”

2022 Region 10 Secondary Teacher of the Year
Chelsie Nail
Howe High School, Howe ISD

Chelsie Nail

“My role as an English teacher is to cover the basics: grammar, rhetoric, figurative language, analysis...but my role as an educator is to develop ethical, well-rounded individuals who will positively influence society.”

And we so appreciate our generous Teacher of the Year Sponsors!

Teacher of the Year Sponsors


Please Note:  You are about to view a page that is provided for your convenience and
is not under the jurisdiction of Region 10 ESC; we are not responsible for its content.

Site URL: