NOTE: In this website, non '' url links open in a new window.

An ILD or AEL certificate is a co-requisite for T-TESS Certification

The Texas Teacher Evaluation and Support System utilizes many tools that help support teacher instruction and student performance. This system consists of:

  • an evaluation rubric
  • a goal-setting plan and
  • an embedded student growth measure.

T-TESS is intended to promote a growth mindset in educators by providing a structure to self-reflect and receive ongoing, meaningful feedback from educational practitioners.


If you are not a current administrator who is an appraiser with a Region 10 District/Charter or Private School who has purchased the Region 10 Supervision & Leadership Services Package, the cost of T-TESS is $450 (Training + Certificate Fee) payable by a district/charter or private school purchase order, Master Card, or Visa and due when registering.

If you have any questions regarding the registration fee,
please contact Teresa Reyes


Standards:  T-TESS is based on the newly adopted Texas Teacher Standards. These standards address six broad areas: Instructional Planning and Delivery, Knowledge of Students and Student Learning, Content Knowledge and Expertise, Learning Environment, Data-Driven Practice, and Practices and Responsibility. These standards helped mold the domains for the rubric used in the new Texas Teacher Evaluation Support System.

Rubric:  The T-TESS rubric consists of four domains: Planning, Instruction, Learning Environment, and Professional Practices and Responsibilities. The rubric is a tool that should motivate discussions about intentional support for teachers and aid teachers in self-reflecting about areas of reinforcement and areas of refinement. The rubric descriptors allow appraisers to collect targeted evidence to support teacher growth and understanding.

Evaluation Cycle:  T-TESS includes three main components: goal-setting and professional development plan, the evaluation cycle, and student growth. These components form together as a cohesive system in order to guide teachers to areas of growth and professional development. When the T-TESS system is utilized with validity, instructional changes and student success outcomes become evident.

Post-Conference:  The post-conference is designed to promote the self-reflection process for the teacher. This reflection process then provides evidence that helps construct the teacher's future goals. The post-conference is required after formal observations, must be conducted in person, and should be conducted in a timely manner.

T-TESS Teacher Handbook:  The T-TESS Teacher Handbook is a guide that can be utilized by all educators to aid in the implementation of the system and to support ongoing professional growth.

List of available services offered by Region 10 Supervision & Leadership Services Team